We are heading to Europe!

8 Aug

Dear Friends,

I apologize for the silence. Life. Ah, life. It has been a whirlwind the last few months, and is about to get even more crazy! In less than one week, we will arrive for our two-month stay in Europe. I plan to blog some from there, though I doubt I will use my links format! I hope you’ll follow along.

For your reading pleasure in the meantime, here are a few things to check out:

This graduation speech about kindness was pretty spectacular. (From 6thfloor.blogs.nytimes)

“What I regret most in my life are failures of kindness. 

Those moments when another human being was there, in front of me, suffering, and I responded…sensibly.  Reservedly.  Mildly.”

Graduation speeches can be so, well, empty.  This one made one strong point, and it was made well.

This collection of photographs is so awesome- the dude dropped New York City into the Grand Canyon.  (From The Atlantic Cities)

“‘One is so full and the other so empty,” he says. ‘One goes up, the other down.'”

These photos just flat out blew my mind.

This guide to understanding an introvert is pretty cool. (From Fastcocreate.com)

“Introverted people live in a human sized hamster-ball.  (Not really, but you know what I mean.)”

For a long time, I have described myself as an “adapted introvert”.  This typically gets a smile out of whomever I’m talking to, and they say “what do you mean?” I mean that I am an introvert in a world that functions mostly on extroverts, so I’ve learned to adapt, and even appear as an extrovert.  Lately, I’ve wondered if I am actually an extrovert with a lot of social anxiety.  Hold off on sharing your diagnoses of me, please.  🙂

In honor of our upcoming trip, here’s an article called 10 Surprising Things about Parenting in Norway (From Cup of Jo)

“But the hardest adjustment, she explains, is the lack of variety. ‘There’s a sense that there’s just one right way to do things. And everyone does it that way. In America there are different parenting styles—co-sleeping, attachment parenting, etc. Here there is just one way, more or less: all kids go to bed at 7, all attend the same style of preschool, all wear boots, all eat the same lunch…that’s the Norwegian way.'”

We are not headed to Norway, but will spend time in several countries over the next two months. I’m fascinated by how parenting is different in different cultures, and how our assumptions are informed by cultural expectations.

Thank you to the many, MANY of you who have asked about the blog in the last few months. I really appreciate your interest and hope you’ll keep following me.

Until Europe!

Blessings,

Dana

Cathedral in Florence

Leave a Reply

