What to check out this weekend: April 4, 2013

4 Apr

Dear Friends,

Here are my recommendations for what to check out this weekend, April 4, 2013:

I clicked on this essay, “How to Break Up With a Two Year Old” because I love the Modern Love column, but also because I’m seemingly always thinking about my relationship with my daughter.  I couldn’t have been more wrong about the topic this piece covers!  (From the New York Times)

“Until one day when I finally found myself in Andrew’s living room with my bags packed, mustering the courage to say goodbye. While Andrew cleaned up our breakfast, I squatted to his daughter’s level, hugged her and said I loved her.

She tugged at my iPhone, demanding Elmo. A good friend had warned: ‘Don’t get emotional or she will, too.’ If I did one thing right that day, it was waiting until the door closed behind me to let the tears flow.”

This piece touched something in me about loss and about creating the reality we want most.

So, this article is by Anne Lamott, one my favorite authors. It’s about her year of being a match.com member.  It’s funny and charming. (From Salon.com)

“What I missed was checking in all day with my person, daydreaming about him, and watching TV together at night. There, I’ve said it: I wanted someone to text all day, and watch TV with.”

Honestly, there are no big revelations in this piece, although I find Lamott’s writing to be always a bit revolutionary.

If you have a bunch of free time, consider checking out these repurposed cardboard boxes (from Craigslist Dad).

The post has instructions for making all kinds of cool kids stuff from cardboard boxes.  Fun!

Articles about appreciating our bodies, especially in terms of what we are teaching our children, seem rampant these days.  This one was particularly well-written. (From Steve Wiens).

“Then I take his little finger and trace it along one of my stretch marks and ask, ‘Do you know what these are?”No.’ he says. ‘These are the lines of a story. Do you know what the story is about?’ ‘What?’ he asks.  ‘These lines tell the story of Isaac and Ben and Elijah. They tell about how you grew inside me and how I stretched to make room for you because I was so glad you would be my boy. Aren’t they beautiful?’ ‘Yes!’ he answered. “

I really appreciated the honest self-reflection in this piece; the author tells the truth about the painful moments and shares her transformation with us.

Happy reading, friends.

Blessings,

Dana

Leave a Reply

