What to check out this weekend: March 28, 2013

28 Mar

Dear Friends,

I’ve been advised to change my format slightly, so instead of seeing “This” as the link to the piece I’m referencing, you’ll see something slightly different.

This article from The Onion describes the reality of so many people I know trying to balance “hobbies” with “work”.

“Just find the thing you enjoy doing more than anything else, your one true passion, and do it for the rest of your life on nights and weekends when you’re exhausted and cranky and just want to go to bed.”

I know my theater peeps can relate! I am not saying I’d give up my day job to do theater full time, but I certainly can understand the idea of working all day, and then when I am at my worst (read: end of the day), that’s the time I go out and do my whole OTHER life.

This piece about getting ready for swimsuit season is really about diving into life fully. (From Shauna Niequist).

“And this is what I’m not going to do: I’m not going to hide. I’m not going to bow out of things I love to do because I’m afraid people won’t love me when they see my underbutt.”

So trendy, and yet so honest and true: jumping in fully is really the only way to live, isn’t it?

I’ve been holding out on linking you to a wonderful blog- Momastery.  This essay includes a letter to the writer’s son, Chase, regarding her feelings about him should he end up being gay. (From Momastery).

“And while we were holding you, we would say a silent prayer that as little time as possible passed between the moment you knew you were gay and the moment you told us.”

This piece seemed timely with all of the Supreme Court goings on… and enjoy poking around Momastery a little while you’re there.  A great blog.

Happy reading, friends.

Blessings,

Dana

 

One Response to “What to check out this weekend: March 28, 2013”

  1. Dani March 28, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    Such a healer you are. Don’t we all wish we had such a mom? Many tears from me. I feel like I finally got to be accepted if only through a beautiul piece of writing found and shared by a truly accepting person.

Leave a Reply

