What to check out this weekend: March 21, 2013

21 Mar

Dear Friends,

Here are my recommendations of what to check out this weekend, March 21, 2013:

This TED talk is worth watching for so many reasons. (From Upworthy)

“This guy started out as a bully. Where he ended up will surprise you.”

I love TED talks.  This one is special because it’s an 11 minute (or so) long poem about bullying, but it’s about so much more.  By the way, the amazing school where I work is hosting the second annual TEDx Sonoma County this summer on June 15.  The theme is “More?”.  Check it out at tedxsonomacounty.com/2013.

This is a screenshot that is pretty amusing.  Ever have something you’d like to tell a neighbor? Here’s your chance. (From Imgur).

I’d like mine to say “Yes, your dogs are still barking.”

This short piece about connection rang true for me (From In Pursuit of Happiness).

“I used to think that having lots of friends to invite to a party would make me feel like I belonged. I’m learning now that having a handful of people in my life who aren’t afraid of my shit is what makes me feel like I’m not alone.”

I’ve been thinking a lot about connection over the last few weeks.  What are your thoughts about what helps you feel connected?  Is connection important to you?

This is just silly. (From Food.com)

“This recipe might be a little too difficult for me! I once tried to make a similar recipe, but it didn’t turn out too well! That recipe was called “Iced Water”. 

This post with a recipe for ice water has the most hilarious comments. Seriously funny. You don’t have to read the recipe (which requires signing in). Just read the comments. You’re welcome.

Happy reading, friends.

Blessings,

Dana

PS: If you follow me on Google Reader, you’re gonna have to find a new solution.  I’m so bummed.  I’ve switched over to feedly.com for my RSS and I’m happy so far.

PSS: I’d love to draw more readers to my blog! If you’re so inclined, let your friends know about it! Thanks for the support!

One Response to “What to check out this weekend: March 21, 2013”

  1. Denise March 21, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    This dry comment had me laughing: “It turned out more like soup instead of ice cubes.” Looking forward to watching the TED talk. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

