What to check out this weekend: March 14, 2013

14 Mar

Dear Friends,

Here are my recommendations for what to check out this weekend, March 14, 2013

This letter to mom’s everywhere on their i-phones is just amazing.

“Sometimes we have the hardest conversations imaginable that way, and time stands still on both of our benches, and I want to throw my phone far away from me, but I hold onto it and so do you, because sometimes, Mom on the iPhone, our phones are our lifelines to one another. And that’s okay.”

There is so much criticism these days of technology and how it pulls us away from “real” contact. I tend to agree, but this blog post reminded me of another thing I know is true: connection, no matter how it happens, is all that really matters.

This short NPR piece called “Always Go To The Funeral” is about that, and more. (From NPR.com)

“I remember two things from the funeral circuit: bottomless dishes of free mints and my father saying on the ride home, ‘You can’t come in without going out, kids. Always go to the funeral.'”

When I was in college, I took a poetry class and had to write a poem called “Things I Missed”.  The first lines were:

“I missed grandpa’s funeral.

I missed grandpa’s funeral.

So many things were more important back then.”

I clearly remember not attending the funerals of my two grandfathers, who both died when I was in the 6th grade.  They lived across the country, and it just didn’t make sense for me to go. I liked this NPR piece because it spoke to the metaphor of doing the right thing even when you don’t want to.  (By the way, I am not a huge fan of the phrase “do the right thing”.  I think there are many “right things” in most situations.)

This recipe for Pad Thai sounds yummy! (From the Press Democrat)

“My cooking partner and I prepared the Pad Thai Chicken Salad with Peanut Vinaigrette, which seemed to be well received.  The ginger-infused oil in the dressing, when blended with  balsamic vinegar, gave it a nice flavor boost.   This could make a very satisfying main course, if you’re looking for a light dinner.”

I love Thai Food, and I love Pad Thai.  I haven’t tried this recipe yet, but I fully intend to!  Sky and I took a great Thai cooking class when we went to Thailand in 2008.  So fun!

Happy reading!

Blessings,

Dana

6 Responses to “What to check out this weekend: March 14, 2013”

  1. Angela March 14, 2013 at 8:35 am #

    Mmm. Pad Thai !!

    • Dana March 14, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

      YUM! Another thing we can talk about making together and likely never do. 🙂

  2. Leslie Isaacs March 14, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    Hi Hon,

    I do read your blog and am usually engaged and interested. I therefore have a couple of things about this weeks blog I want to mention:

    l. Really enjoyed the NPR piece on going to the funeral. 2. Pad Thai recipe seemed like too many ingredients that you had to go out and buy and in general too many ingredients. 3. The I phone mom thing seemed like someone who had to justify why she was constantly on the phone, annoying everyone around her. I couldn’t even read the whole thing. She had absolutely nothing to say about the women who talk just to talk. Obviously the article or what I read of it, really bothered me.

    Love ya doll.

    Mom

    • Dana March 14, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

      Hi Mom, thanks for your comments! I am glad that you are having a reaction to the things I’m posting, even if the reactions are not always positive.
      Love you!

  3. Tracy August 30, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    I can feel the constriction in my belly when you speak of your fear of heights! Especially the thought of your baby being close to the edge! I’m proud of you for managing it and I think you are brave for doing what you are. I’m envious and I’m so happy that you are doing it and doing it well!
    My love to you all
    Tracy

    • Dana August 30, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

      Thanks Tracy, we miss you and love you!

Leave a Reply

