What to check out this weekend: March 7, 2013

7 Mar

Dear Friends,

My heart is heavy after the loss of a friend last week.

Here are my recommendations of what to check out this weekend:

This short article about regrets captures some of my thoughts about living life fully (from alternet).

“I wish I had let myself be happier”.

Not to be too morbid, but I do think about how I want to feel at the end of my life.  This list definitely helped put into focus some of the things that are important to me.

This essay about being present is amusing and beautifully written (from Writing Me Home).

“I suppose it’s possible that the stinging memory of my ostensible rudeness boils up every time you have to steer a course around an overly laden-down MacLaren that’s bucking and straining to get up onto the sidewalk curb, or when you have to wait for the lady in front of you to finish doling out the snack she just bought for her whining children before you can get close enough to the cash register to pay for your Smartwater.”

Full disclosure: The author of this blog, Marika Paez Wiesen, is an acquaintance from my childhood.  I happened upon her blog through facebook, and spent the next while reading everything she’d written.  Enjoy!

This is a recipe for making your own yogurt (from Dig This Chick).

“And now that I can wave my homespun probiotic flag, I get to be one of those people who says it’s so easy and affordable!”

We do really like yogurt around here… I would like to try this.  Does anyone make their own yogurt?  (PS: I really, really love this blog.  One of my favorites.)

This (long) birth story and gorgeous photography was just the salve my heart needed. (From Baby by the Sea)

“This is the story of falling in love with a baby before we even met her, the story of witnessing two friends fall deeper in love and the joy of meeting someone you just know you’ll know a lifetime in their very first second of life.”

I am a sucker for a birth story, and this one was so well-written.  The photography took my breath away, too!

Happy reading!

Blessings,

Dana

We miss you, we honor you, and we love you, Jonathan.

5 Responses to “What to check out this weekend: March 7, 2013”

  1. Angela Garcia March 7, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    Loved the birth story! Let me know how your yogurt turns out!!

    • Dana March 7, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      We could make it together, Angela! 🙂

  2. Chanda March 12, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    Lovely articles, Dana.
    I am enjoying #2 right now. Some of my favorite sections:

    ” I was just doing far too much thinking when I should have been being. Period.”

    and

    “This great big city of ours can be hard and lonely. We’ve all had moments while scurrying and scrambling around when we just needed… something extra. Extra time, extra patience, extra understanding, extra kindness… It can be easy to forget that most human beings are just a series of raw or festering wounds wrapped in the thinnest of skin. Your tiny fit reminded me that if we don’t care for one another, if we don’t take time to give a little extra when we can, we won’t be able to survive here.”
    Though I would venture to say it’s true of anywhere really. Those of us who don’t live in the big city should remember this too.

    I am sorry you lost someone.
    xo
    Chanda

  3. natural birth January 19, 2014 at 4:43 pm #

    Amazing blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go
    for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused ..
    Any recommendations? Thanks!

    • Dana January 19, 2014 at 4:57 pm #

      Hi, thanks for the note.
      I would go with a free wordpress option and take it from there. Just go for it!
      Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

