What to check out this weekend: February 21, 2013

21 Feb

Dear Friends,

I am in Washington, DC this week visiting friends.  I love it here! Today is my half-birthday.  For some reason I felt compelled to tell you that.  🙂

Here are my recommendations for what to check out this weekend, February 21, 2013:

This post about slowing down made a lot of sense to me (from Shauna Niequist).

I’m adopting a ruthless anti-frantic policy. I’m done with frantic. The new baseline for me: will saying yes to this require me to live in a frantic way?”

Sky and I have been talking a lot about slowing down.  I have made a real effort in the last six months or so, with varying success.  What are your thoughts about this topic?

This house caught my eye (From Hooked on Houses).

“Michael Graves said of their work: ‘The world of Polhemus Savery DaSilva is so enormously refreshing . . . a body of uncompromising domestic architecture.'”

I have never been to Cape Cod, and it has been a topic of discussion lately!  The fish sofa really made me smile, but I think it is one of those things that you really like or really don’t! Also, I love those windows in the bedroom.  Ah…

This list of what to read will keep you busy! (From Claire Diaz Ortiz)

“I keep a running list of the books and what I think of them in my journal, and this bright shiny 2011 I’m going to write them here to bore you all.”

Book lists are so personal, and there are many on this list that I will never pick up.  But, I think it’s fascinating to hear what other people are reading and to try something new!  I’d love to hear your book recommendations!

This essay from a parent of a child with physical differences struck a chord (from Dream Big Little One).

“I’m glad you don’t fit in.”

Regardless of my child’s areas of strength or areas where she needs support, I hope she always dances to her own beat.

Sorry for the short-list this week… I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Blessings,

Dana

Leave a Reply

