What to check out this weekend: January 24, 2013

24 Jan

Dear Friends,

Here are my recommendations for what to check out this weekend: January 24, 2013:

This short piece was a great reminder that you just never know what is going on for someone else. (From Danielle LaPorte).

“Here’s a curative for the sharp judgement that often accompanies our disappointment in others — just a single, surprising expansive phrase: You just never know.”

Danielle LaPorte rocks my world in lots of ways; this short piece she recently posted kicked me in the pants at the right moment.  Typically I do ok at remembering this nugget of wisdom, but the reminder was timely!

This list of 46 reasons a three year old might be freaking out was right on in the best and worst senses! (From Jason Good)

“He doesn’t want to get out of the car.  He wants to get out of the car by himself.”

Kids are just one big walking contradiction, and this list made me laugh.

This set of towels (and other things) made me happy. (From Castle and Things)

This piece about the decision to have an abortion is timely and poignant. (from Kvell)

“It sounded great. And not because I had found a way to finance my abortion. But because for the first time since I found out I was pregnant, I realized that I wasn’t the first–nor would I be the last–knocked up Nice Jewish Girl.”

This week is the anniversary of the Roe v. Wade decision.  Regardless of your opinion, I encourage you to check out this short piece about one young woman’s decision.

This list of positive books for kids was inspiring! (from Positively Positive)

“With technology developing at a record pace and kids mastering iPads before they’re even out of diapers, it’s more important than ever to instill the love of reading in our children.”

I absolutely love reading to Eliana, and now that she is learning to read herself, I am thrilled by the world that is opening to her.

This is a brief newspaper article about the San Francisco Broadway World Awards.  (From Press Democrat)

“Dana Nelson-Isaacs was voted best featured actress in a play for her performance as Mrs. Gibbs in the Santa Rosa Junior College production of  “Our Town.””

It was really a thrill to be nominated this year for my performance.   Thank you to everyone for your support!  I am very humbled and honored!

Happy weekend!

Blessings,

Dana

4 Responses to “What to check out this weekend: January 24, 2013”

  1. Leslie Isaacs January 24, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    All the articles were wonderful, thoughtful and short! You have certainly picked out the best of the best. Thank yo

    • Dana January 24, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

      Thanks, Mom! Glad you liked them!

  2. Angela January 29, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

    Thanks for the Positively Positive book list!

Leave a Reply

