What to check out this weekend: January 17, 2013

17 Jan

Dear Friends,

Here are my recommendations for what to check out this weekend!

This is a great story about synchronicity. (From Katrina Anne Willis).

“And here’s what I know I can control. How many times I kiss my husband; how often I open my own doors and extend my own hands to those in need; how much I love my children, my family, my friends; how willing I am to forgive and forget; how much of life I choose to live.”

I loved this story.  It reminded me of how lucky I am, over and over again, and it reminded me that sometimes what looks like luck is really something bigger. Sky is in Florida this week giving a series of workshops on his study of synchronicity and promoting his new book.  Contact me if you’re interested! Congratulations, Sky!!!

This is an amusing story about getting on The Price is Right. (From deadspin)

“This past summer, I resolved to engage in a highly scientific process to get myself onto contestants’ row, because I was the kid who enjoyed doing lab reports in high school, even though I was totally cool and I kissed girls at dances, for real.”

I appreciated how this story ended, and I chuckled multiple times.

This story about naming a baby after a dear friend brought tears to my eyes. (From Claire Bidwell Smith)

“Now it seems that it has all unfolded just the way it was meant to. That I would have two girls, one who would teach me those initial folds of bottomless love, and another who would honor someone capable of carrying them through an entire lifetime.”

I can’t think of a more beautiful way to honor a friend.  I love stories behind names, and this one touched my heart.

This group of photographs is pretty spectacular (from jokeroo.com)

“A collection of some clever and well-taken photos, featuring the moon!”

I am a moon gazer, and I love this series my dad sent me with the note, “Can you include this in your blog?”  How can I resist?  🙂

This is a sweet story about being generous. (From An Inch of Grey)

“But generosity is an ideal I want for our family. I don’t want to cling so tightly to love that it fizzles and burns out. I want to expose it to the light and air and spread it around.”

I thought this was a really good reminder of what is truly important.  Love doesn’t run out.  There’s enough to go around.  (By the way, this is a beautiful blog).

This will probably appeal to those of you who have done a lot of team building activities. (From youtube).

“Close your eyes, and just fall down, ok?”

A little chuckle.  Reminds me of camp.

Happy reading!

Blessings,

Dana

Love Changes Everything

6 Responses to “What to check out this weekend: January 17, 2013”

  1. Angela January 17, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    I loved waking up to these links today!

    • Dana January 17, 2013 at 9:41 am #

      Thanks Angela! So glad you are enjoying the blog!

  2. Katrina Anne Willis January 17, 2013 at 8:00 am #

    Thanks for mentioning my post! Glad I found your site! 🙂

    • Dana January 17, 2013 at 9:42 am #

      Katrina! I’m so glad you found me! Can I ask how? Did you google yourself? 🙂 Thanks for your beautiful blog.

  3. skynelson January 18, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

    What an amazing story about synchronicity and the tornado. Thanks for finding and sharing it my dear!

    • Dana January 18, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

      Glad you liked it, Sky! 🙂

Leave a Reply

