What to check out this weekend: January 10, 2013

10 Jan

Dear Friends,

After a restful holiday break, including a few days away, we are back in the swing of things and ready to take on 2013. (Today is my dad’s birthday- happy birthday Dad!).  While on vacation, I took a fall down a flight of stairs and managed to hurt both of my legs, making me pretty immobile and in some pain.  Healing thoughts are welcome and appreciated!

Here are my recommendations for what to check out this weekend, January 10, 2013:

This is a pretty comprehensive list of ways to simplify your digital life. (From zenhabits)

“But how do you simplify such a complicated beast as the Internet? It’s impossible! Actually, no, it’s doable, but it takes a willingness to let go.”

I often find myself really overwhelmed by my digital life, and have spent a fair amount of time thinking about how to make it easier, but I get stuck exactly where Leo says I will: my inability to actually let go.

This piece about how mothers are rarely in family photos struck a nerve; over 2200 mothers sent in photos of themselves with their children afterward. (From huffpost parents)

“I’m everywhere in their young lives, and yet I have very few pictures of me with them. Someday I won’t be here — and I don’t know if that someday is tomorrow or thirty or forty or fifty years from now — but I want them to have pictures of me. I want them to see the way I looked at them, see how much I loved them. I am not perfect to look at and I am not perfect to love, but I am perfectly their mother.”

It is an ongoing joke in our family that I am not in very many pictures.  Partly this is because I am typically behind the camera, but it’s also because I don’t make it a priority to get in the picture.  In re-reading this piece today, I cried all over again.  I do want my daughter to see me.

This took my breath away in the most beautiful way.  (From decorhacks)

“These steps were painted as part of a creative campaign for a public library system, but they could also serve as inspiration for your home.”

When I saw this photograph, I gasped audibly.  For some reason, I was really moved and inspired! What do you think?

This is the most hilarious list of new years resolutions I have seen yet.  (From brittanyherself).

“I’m buying a bikini.  I mean…yeah, at least it will be easier to pee in.  I’ll share the whole experience with you, providing I wax and whatever.”

I laughed so hard reading this list of resolutions I cried multiple times.  I hope you enjoy it, too.

This kale salad is our favorite.  (From twobluelemons)

“The trick to this salad is using lacinato kale or baby kale which are more delicate then shredding them into thin ribbons.”

Honestly, when we make Kale Caesar, we don’t follow a recipe at all, and we skip the egg.  Just lemon juice, olive oil, and fresh garlic tossed over the kale about 30 minutes before you want to eat it is perfect.  The acid in the lemon softens the kale so it’s more tender.  Yum.

I hope you have a lovely weekend!

Blessings,

Dana

8 Responses to “What to check out this weekend: January 10, 2013”

  1. skynelson January 10, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    And you are also such a good photographer! But we do need more (good) pictures of you.

  2. Angela Garcia January 10, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Thanks for the Zenhabits link to simplifying digital life. Now, I’m off to organize all those digital photos!

    • Dana January 11, 2013 at 10:21 am #

      Glad you liked it Angela!

  3. mrnybel January 11, 2013 at 9:22 am #

    Have you seen these steps?

    An amazing community project.

    http://www.tiledsteps.org/

    Rishi

    • Dana January 11, 2013 at 10:21 am #

      That’s awesome!!!

    • Dana January 17, 2013 at 9:42 am #

      Thanks Rishi! Awesome!!!

  4. Dani January 12, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    Loved the picture article–lots in there for me too, mom or not!! You make it so very easy for people and most especially your daughter to see you–no worries there!!

    • Dana January 12, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

      Thanks Dani!

Leave a Reply

