What to check out this weekend: January 3, 2013

3 Jan

Dear Friends,

Happy 2013! We are enjoying a few days away, which always replenishes me. It’s a perfect way to ring in the new year.

Here are my recommendations for what to check out this weekend, January 3, 2013:

This is a video of a telescope pointed into the deepest dark of our universe. (From Flixxy)

“We pointed the most powerful telescope ever built by human beings at absolutely nothing, for no other reason than because we were curious.”

Be prepared to be blown away. This is truly amazing. (Props to Dad for turning me onto it!)

This article got lots of people hot and bothered. (“Why Women Still Can’t Have It All” from Atlantic Monthly)

“I’d been the one telling young women at my lectures that you can have it all and do it all, regardless of what field you are in. Which means I’d been part, albeit unwittingly, of making millions of women feel that they are to blame if they cannot manage to rise up the ladder as fast as men and also have a family and an active home life (and be thin and beautiful to boot).”

Heads up: this is a dense article about why women can’t have it all. It touched something deep in me, but I’m still not sure how to articulate my feelings. I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

This is a hilarious breakdown of the movie Les Miserables. (From Jezebel).

“I am…just going to tell you what every single song made me think and feel. Sound self-indulgent? Welcome to the world of musical theater fans.”

I saw Les Miserables on the stage, and my sister convinced me to see the movie. I thought this review was nearly spot-on, and I also got a good laugh out of some of the comments.

This post is from a spirited new blog written by a 92 year old man who lost his wife last month after 67 years of marriage. (From greycavalier)

“What would Mima have thought about what I did today, she would probably have worried, but the moment I walked in and said “I’m back”, her eyes would light up.”

I am so inspired by the courage of this man! His ability to travel and his enthusiasm is contagious to me. May we all have this much energy when we are 92!

EDIT: When confirming all of the links in my post this week, I found this one to be gone!  In it’s place was this.  Too bad for us.

This was our dinner earlier in the week after a recommendation from my mom. (From epicurious).

Have I mentioned I’m addicted to soup these days? This barley, lentil, and chard soup was hearty enough to be the star of the show. I also added tofu. Delicious!

I hope you all had a lovely New Year celebration. Thanks, as always, for your ongoing support.

Blessings,

Dana

PS: Today is the first day back to school for the students of Sandy Hook Elementary School.  They will head to class in a nearby town in a school outfitted with as many familiar details as possible.  They will even be greeted by a familiar face- their previous principal who retired in 2010.  Sandy Hook parents must feel like they are dropping off a piece of their heart; to them, I send peace.  The staff must feel a tremendous weight; to them, I send gratitude. And the students… it’s hard for me to imagine how they might be feeling; to them, I send hope.  And for the parents not dropping off a child today because their sweet dear one was taken on December 14, I send love and wishes for healing.

20130101-215731.jpg

This is not our current vacation spot, but rather a photo from our early fall trip to the Yuba River.  Aaaaaahhhh.  Love.

One Response to “What to check out this weekend: January 3, 2013”

  1. Dani January 5, 2013 at 9:18 am #

    Well, dear Dana, what a wonderful way to get to know more of you. This is my first blog reading of any kind. It is wonderful and leaves me wondering where ever in the world to you find the time to collect such diverse and meaningful material. A beautiful and heart opening way to begin my days!!! Love to you

Leave a Reply

