What to check out this weekend: December 27, 2012

27 Dec

Dear Friends,

As we wrap up 2012, I thought it would be fun to do a round-up of some “best-of” lists and videos, plus a quick reflective piece about Kwanzaa to get us in the mood for the new year!

Here are my recommendations of what to check out this weekend, December 27, 2012:

This is a short, thoughtful piece about Kwanzaa. (From allparenting.com)

“The three questions of Kwanzaa all stress self-reflection, honesty and growth: Who am I? Am I really who I say I am? Am I all I want to be?”

I’m in an uber-reflective mode at this new year, and I love how the themes of Kwanzaa help move me deeper into the space I am wanting to inhabit in this transition to 2013.

This is a video of the best moments of the 2012 Olympics (From NBC)

“A look back at all of the most memorable and dramatic moments from the first 15 days of the 2012 London Olympic Games.”

I definitely have my favorite Olympic events, and it was fun to look back at some of the incredible moments from the summer games.

This is a list of the best design trend projects of 2012 (From curbly.com)

“It’s been a great 12 months, filled with plenty of DIYs and no shortage of trends, from neon and color blocked to polka dots and ombre.”

Please don’t make the mistake of thinking that I have attempted even one of these projects, but if you decide to attempt one (or more!), please send me a photo!

This is a slideshow of the best moments from the 2012 World Series (from Bleacher Report).

“Memories from the 108th edition of the World Series will be largely stacked toward the Giants, and for obvious reasons.”

I cannot begin to tell you how much joy I got this year by being a SF Giants fan. One of my best memories of 2012 was when my dad (very generously) gave me his ticket to a playoff game. While I really, really would have loved to go to the game with my dad, it was a special moment when I realized that I loved baseball so much that I was happy to go with anyone, or even by myself. Thanks, Dad!

(As an aside, I had a similar experience a few years ago when I went to New York alone, and saw four shows in three days.  Sitting in the second to last row, totally absorbed in the story onstage, tears sprung to my eyes as I realized that I loved theater so much that being there by myself was just as special to me as if I had company.  That’s not to say I don’t prefer to share it, but experiencing performance alone has it’s benefits.)

This is the annual Google Zeitgeist video. (From Google).

“Here’s to the curious…”

I always love this video from Google. What do you think?

In the comments, I’d love to hear about one of your best moments from 2012!

If you’d like to get an email when there’s a new post up (once a week), just click “follow” at the bottom left of the screen and enter your email.

Thanks for your ongoing support and for turning your friends onto the blog! All of my warm wishes for an outstanding 2013.

Blessings,

Dana

20121226-083332.jpg

This was the first rainbow Eliana ever saw!

fierce

This is a blog by the artist of the beautiful piece above. (From Kal Barteski)

Leave a Reply

