What to check out this weekend: December 13, 2012

13 Dec

Greetings, friends!

First, let me extend my sincere thanks for your enthusiasm for the blog. I’ve gotten so much helpful feedback.

Here are my recommendations for what to check out this weekend: December 13, 2012:

This is a short, poignant piece about family history. (From Megan Mayhew Bergman)

“Those goats helped make the milk that the Dogtor and his sister grew up on – and let me tell you, it must have had something magical in it.”

I recently read (and loved) Megan Mayhew Bergman’s book of short stories, called “Birds of a Lesser Paradise”. I highly recommend it! (Shout out here to my brilliant cousin, Julie Barer of Barer Literary, who is the author’s agent. Congrats, Julie!!)

This is my favorite soup. (From the Food Network)

“Ladle soup over chicken and top with a lime wedge, grilled tortilla strips, avocado slices and cheese.”

I absolutely adore eating soup when it’s chilly out. I make this all the time and we eat it for days. We’ve had it three nights this week! The additions at the end are what make it really special. So easy. Adapt to your liking.

This has not been my experience with the change to the big-girl-bed, but I feel for this dear mama! (From http://www.mommyshorts.com)

“As of this moment, I am typing while also terrified that Mazzy will suddenly appear at my side like the Ghost of Christmas Past asking me to tell her a story, get her some water, turn the light on, sing her a song, make her a sandwich, go to the playground, take her to the moon, find her a dayjob, explain the theory of relativity or any one of the myriad of requests she has made in the past 11 days.”

We moved Eliana to her big girl bed just after Thanksgiving. She has definitely pulled the Ghost of Christmas Past routine, and is currently not so sure about the (absolutely gorgeous) new bedding she got as a Hanukkah gift, but it has basically gone pretty well. Knock on wood.

This is pretty intense: learning about a friend’s death over facebook. Not for the faint-of-heart. (From grieftastic.wordpress.com)

“The girl who broke my heart promised to email me when Tara died, but she didn’t. I learned about Tara’s death on Facebook from a Community Page that had been created to keep people in the loop about Tara’s condition.”

I often have conflicting feelings about the role of social media in my life. This piece captures some of why it is complicated for me.

This is a timely tribute to Hanukkah. (From Huffington Post)

“As the days grow shorter and the air chills, the celebration of Hanukkah shines light into the darkness and teaches us to rededicate ourselves to kindling the flame of hope.”

I have really enjoyed our Hanukkah celebrations this year: our little nuclear family, extended family, small groups of friends. Decorating with Eliana has been fun, too! She is very into singing ‘Hanukkah, oh Hanukkah’ for anyone who will listen!

20121210-220451.jpg

Eliana on the first night of Hanukkah with her grandparents.

This post reminded me that home decorating doesn’t have to be overly complicated. (From younghouselove.com)

“If we had to pick the stars of the room, though, it’d totally be the window fabric paired with the fish art.”

Don’t get bogged down by the how-to on the mirror (unless you are a DIY type!). I liked seeing how some quick, simple changes brightened up this bathroom.

That’s it for this week; happy reading!

Feel free to share my blog with your friends and family, and you might consider subscribing- you’ll get a notice in your email box when a new post is published. Just scroll to the bottom of the screen and check out the box on the bottom left. Thanks again for all of your support and feedback!

Blessings,

Dana

2 Responses to “What to check out this weekend: December 13, 2012”

  1. skynelson December 18, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    That’s a hilarious moral to the big-girl bed story. I am scared to think what aspects of my own personality will come back to haunt me in the form of my daughter.

    • Dana December 18, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      Haha, Sky… yes, I think we are facing some interesting years ahead! 🙂

Leave a Reply

