What to check out this weekend: November 30, 2012

1 Dec

Welcome to my very first recommendation list!

What to check out this weekend: November 30, 2012

This made me laugh.  (from The Bloggess)

“Then we flagged down a salesman, and we were all “What can you tell us about these chickens?”, as if we were in an art gallery, and not in a store that specializes in last years’ bathmats.”

Marriage.  Oh my.

This impressed me.  (From a New York Times parenting blog)

“He recognizes, like the brightest civil rights trailblazers, that true progress is made not only in grand gestures, but in mundane moments that almost imperceptibly telegraph the many versions of normal we should all embrace.”

I am so moved by the deep love our children teach us.

This inspired me.  (From Design Mom)

“She has a tree-house. Even more magical, it glows at night!”

I love this series called “Living with Kids” from the blog Design Mom.  I will never have a home as gorgeous as these, but they sure make me smile.

This captured the sentiments of so many parents (from Mamalode magazine)

“Oh sleep! I remember our on-time easy love affair.”

Full disclosure: Nici Holt Cline (www.digthischick.net) is one of my favorite bloggers.  She also writes weekly for Mamalode magazine, and this piece reminded me of my own love affair with sleep, and made me wonder if sleep and I will ever truly get back together.

So, dear readers… this week, four pieces.  I anxiously await your feedback. Which did you love?  Which annoyed you?  Would you like more or less links each week?

Happy Friday.  Thanks for reading.

Blessings,

Dana

6 Responses to “What to check out this weekend: November 30, 2012”

  1. Steve Isaacs December 1, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    I don’t fit your demographic, but I think you’re brilliant.

    • Dana December 1, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

      Thank you! 🙂
      Please feel free to make suggestions of topics that you’d like to see me cover on the blog. Baseball? OK.

  2. Sara Isaacs December 1, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    I’d like to see some cooking/recipes or places to find easy to make meals!!!!

    • Dana December 2, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Absolutely!

  3. Chanda December 12, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    I am finally getting around to reading this now – over a week late. 🙂
    I needed a pick me up/inspiration at work as I ate lunch at my desk on a difficult day and you provided it. Thank you!
    I am reminded how much I love the NYT parenting blog and now discovered how great the living with kids blog is. I agree – I love, yet will never have, that lovely clean house. I am happy to admire and be inspired from afar though.

    Also, that rooster story is awesome. I had seen it before but enjoyed it just as much the second time.

    Thanks, Dana!

    • Dana December 12, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

      Thanks, Chanda! I’m so glad you found a couple of things to enjoy. Love, D

Leave a Reply

